• Type:
  • Genre:
  • Duration:
  • Category:

The essence of Yoga Sutras by Patanjali 

This happened to yoga at that time – hundreds of schools handling different dimensions of yoga. The sage Patanjali saw that it had become completely impractical, so he codified yoga in almost two hundred sutras. The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali outlines the path and science of Yoga meditation for God-union the union of the soul with the undifferentiated Spirit.

The yoga system of Patanjali is known as the Eightfold Path, a process of systematically examining, and transcending each of the various gross and subtle levels of false identity in the mind field, until the jewel of the true Self comes shining through.

Yoga means union of the parts of ourselves, which were never divided in the first place. Yoga literally means to yoke, from the root yuj, which means to unite with Supreme Spirit.

The Eightfold PRACTICES of Yoga:

1 practice. Yama (moral rules outlining the behaviors from which one should abstain): injury to others, untruthfulness, stealing, incontinence (lack of control of the sexual impulse), and covetousness

2 practice. Niyama (spiritual qualities and conduct to be cultivated): purity of the body and mind, contentment in all circumstances, self-discipline, self-study (contemplation), and devotion to Suprem Soul and guru

3rd practice. Asana: right posture

4th practice. Pranayama: control of prana, the subtle life currents in the body

5th Pratyahara: interiorization of the consciousness, through withdrawal of the senses from external objects

6th practice. Dharana: focused concentration; holding the mind to one thought or object

7th practice Dhyana: meditation, absorption in the vast perception of God in one of His infinite aspects — Bliss, Peace, Cosmic Light, Cosmic Sound, Love, Wisdom, etc. — all-pervading throughout the whole universe

8th is a state of being:  – Samadhi: superconscious experience of union of the individualized soul with undifferentiated Cosmic Spirit

Previous Post

ОСАНКА (русский): Sanskrit ‘ASANA’

Next Post


Scroll to top